If you want to replace a student account because the student has left the Academy (or for some other reason), you can do that. When you replace a student account, a new student account will be automatically created, which you can use for another student (when a new student joins your Academy).
You can replace a student account by clicking the ‘Replace‘ option alongside the student username in the ‘Students’ tab of the “Academy” section:
After clicking “Replace”, you will be asked for a confirmation. Click “Yes” to confirm replace:
Student data will be safe, ONLY the account will be replaced
Don’t worry, when you replace a student account, the student account will be deactivated (Inactive status) and you can always activate the student again. All the data will remain safe.
By replacing a student account, it means that the account can no longer be used by anyone. Also, the student will be removed from all the groups he/she was in, and the student will not be shown in other places.
Automatic new student account creation
Once you replace a student account, a new student account will be automatically created. You can give this new account to another student, probably when a new student joins your Academy in future.
In the above image, we can see that the student account we replaced “chesslang_10” became “Inactive”, and a new student account ‘clessang_100544’ has been created and is “Active”.
The default password for the new student account will be your Academy shortname. Nevertheless, you can edit this new account – username, first name, last name, reset password, add ratings, etc.